Contact: Ken Poston, Chief Operating Officer
National United Banks
(254) 865-2011

Texas Bankers Hall of Fame (TBHF) announced its 2018 honorees on March 1. David S. Barnard, former President/CEO and current Chairman of the Board of National United, will be honored with his induction into the Texas Bankers Hall of Fame on April 26, 2018 at the Sixth Annual Texas Bankers Hall of Fame Gala to be held at Sam Houston State University in Huntsville. TBHF was established by the Smith-Hutson Endowed Chair of Banking and recognizes outstanding bankers who have made valuable contributions to the banking profession and who have helped pioneer the Texas banking industry.

David S. Barnard was raised outside Gatesville, Texas. He received his B.S. degree in agricultural economics, and an M.B.A. degree in finance from Texas Tech University. David is also a graduate of SMU’s Southwestern Graduate School. He began his banking career in 1968 with the executive training program of First National Bank in Dallas. In January 1971, David returned to his hometown to become Assistant Cashier for The National Bank of Gatesville. He rose quickly through the ranks to become President of the bank in 1982 and CEO in 1985. He retired from his day-to-day duties in 2013, but continues to serve as Chairman of the Board for what is now National United.

Under David’s leadership, the bank grew from one location in Gatesville to one of the largest independent banks in Central Texas, with six branches and 157 employees across four counties. Assets have grown from $48 million in 1982 to $619 million today.

During his banking career, David served as a two-term director for the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas as well as director of the Texas Bankers Association, director of the American Bankers Association Community Bankers Council, and director of Kalyn Manufacturing, Inc.

National United is proud to recognize David S. Barnard for this esteemed award.